Better communication with existing customers

cc: @BFD_Drew

I’ve been a BFD user since v1. With the all recent acquisitions, I’m starting to feel like BFD is that Tom Hanks character in The Terminal… someone trapped in limbo without a home country. I didn’t even know that this site and forum existed until I had bug. I was looking for help on fxpansion and then roli, both of which were dead ends.

There should more communication from BFD to the customer base about what’s going on. Something like, “Hey here’s what went down these last few years. We’re now at bfddrums.com. All of your fxpansion license keys will continue to work. We’re committed to BFD and we’ll be releasing our new platform in the next X months. and as a thank you to all our customers over the years, here’s a coupon code you can use in our store…” or something like that.

I write music for a living. So the software I choose is directly connected to keeping a roof over my head. I’ve been burned by software companies that go out of business, and my sessions no longer open. I’m trying to be smarter about which software company I give my money to. I hope that BFD has a long and healthy life ahead of it. I think more communication from BFD to the customers would give me more confidence when deciding where to spend my money.

Would love to hear everyone’s thoughts.

2 Likes

There was a whole series of mailings that went out in 2020 and 2021 about the acquisition and about the migration process. There’s a button in the FXpansion user-area for users to migrate their serials across to their inMusic Profile (and it creates one for you if you don’t already have one) and we have an entire knowledge base on the website that covers things in a lot of detail.