(Solved) Noise on Expansion Pack Samples

Hello,

I’m fairly new to the BFD realm, I have a few expansion packs: VRT, Dark Farm and Jazz Noir. However, I’ve found these have a lot of noise, hissing, buzzing on the samples. I am not hearing these issues with the stock library, so I’m not sure what’s going on. The noise is so loud that it’s basically unusable, especially on the HiHat foot for example.

First off, is this normal? Like is it just the noise of the analog recording chain + ambient noise from the studio? If so, what are some tips you guys have for decreasing some the noise?

If it’s not normal, how would one go about fixing it?

I’ve tried the envelope shaper, damping, velocity tweaking, changing sample rates and buffer size, different combinations of preferences, but nothing has worked so far.

I like the sound of BFD vs others, and it feels way better to play on my ekit, but I’m struggling to get everything working correctly.

Thanks!

I’m not hearing it myself but it’s in the presets, have you tried just turning off the global effects to see if you can isolate it.

Do you hear the noise when loading just the kit with no effects or processing?

Steve

Can you post some example clips of the noise (mp3’s?)

Thanks for the response.

The noise is appearing when I’m just loading kit/kitpieces, so there are no effects that I know of that are on. I can even hear it just soloing a single channel.

I will post some sound examples later on, when I get home.

Here are some example clips

1. Dark Farm - Ludwig 402 Snare - Snare Top Mic
  • Long noise on tail
  1. VRT - Ludwig Super Classic Hi Tom - ORTF Mic
  • Long noise on tail
  1. VRT - Ludwig 400 Snare - OH Mic
  • Electrical sounding buzz mainly in left speaker
  1. Dark Farm -Zildjian K Light Hi Hat -OH Mic
  • Burst of noise after sample