Route Ambience for Individual Drums to Separate Outputs

Hey all; I’m new to BFD and this forum is super helpful. Thanks for all of your posts.

I am looking to route drums to individual outputs, along with teach drum’s ambience, each stereo pair.

So;
Kick goes to 1-2 along with it’s ambience
Snare goes to 3-4 along with it’s ambience

Is this possible? If so, how?

Thanks!

Pretty sure that’s not possible.

It’s not something you could ever do in a studio and although it might be possible I can’t see how it could be done without recording each kit piece individually with a selection of ambient mics.
That could make the kit size about 20 times their current size. :thinking:

You could always add it as a feature request here but I can’t see how they could do it,

Steve

It actually is possible, but you have to do the routing in two places.

So… for any kitpiece…

1. Add a bunch of AUX’s to the mixer - name them appropriately (kickOH, kickAMB3, etc.)
  2. Open the drum inspector (tech/model panel) and find the ambient channels list.
  3. The AUX’s you added will appear in the menus next to each ambient microphone. Changing this will re-route the signal to the AUX.
  4. Then in the mixer, you can do the same thing for the direct microphones, by changing their routing at the bottom of the mixer channel - change it to the AUX.
  5. Now… if you want to change the final PLUGIN OUTPUT for this AUX channel, you can change it in the menu at the bottom of the channel.

This won’t really sound like a drumkit in the room once you start processing everything. As Steve said, this is kinda impossible in the real world. But samples allow you this flexibility.

4 Likes

Thanks for this info, I am experimenting now and this seems like it will work.