I've finally decided to switch to Superior Drummer 3

Truth be told, I started playing real drums a few years ago and have reached a point where I’m good enough to record myself and be satisfied with the results. It took a great deal of time and money to get here, so it certainly isn’t for everyone.

As this whole Acquisition episode happened, I tried to go with the flow and of course that immediately went wrong. The new licensing system has been a disaster, which many of you can attest. It really just pushed me back onto my real kit which wasn’t such a bad thing.

Now I’ve reached a point where I want to use drum software again for convenience and workflow enhancement, a scratch pad for ideas and getting things recorded quick for in the moment situations instead of having to turn on my whole recording situation.

Almost every time I go back to BFD3, I get bogged down by licensing and authorization problems. Also, the UI is terribly out of date and very annoying to work with after awhile. My hands start to get tense at all of the small buttons. You can’t resize the actual UI even though you can stretch the window, which is hard on the eyes as well.

I’m stating all of this to send a message to whoever it may concern. You got it way wrong! Your priorities have wrecked an otherwise excellent body of work. This product was in bad need of improvement after years of neglect on the dev side and you guys did the exact opposite when you bought it…I can’t imagine you’re drawing in too many new customers now.

Again, I still want to thank Drew for his hard work and efforts in trying to mitigate the damage. I’m sure a lot of the user base shares my sentiment. I’ll still keep everything installed in hopes that someday might be a better story…

6 Likes

I’ll be joining you as soon as there’s a good price on SD3. Luckily I can wait as I’m not really using acoustic drums in my music at the moment, but long-term I know I’ll need some.

Indeed, well done bean-counters.