Where did the Direct Bus fader go in BFD3?

I’m trying to convert my BFD2-using projects to BFD3. This is my first time really using BFD3, so it’s going painfully. Some of the changes seem to clearly be improvements, while others… I don’t know yet.

I can import presets saved from BFD2, which is helpful (though it didn’t load the Zildjian 20K Crash Ride from a my preset; WHERE in the UI do we find the name of the missing piece??)…

…But I am having difficulty understanding the mixing. The Direct fader is gone and I cannot find any reference to how the workflow is expected to change for people who used that fader in prior versions. Yes, I could select and adjust all the kit pieces’ direct faders together, but that’s less convenient and wasn’t giving me the same results when I tried to manually match the two versions of plugins.

When I opened the BFD2 preset in BFD3, it definitely sounded closer to the original sound I had, but there is nowhere I can SEE what is actually different between the loaded preset and my efforts to manually match the results. The individual directs aren’t moved when I load the preset. It’s as if there’s an invisible Direct Bus I can’t access.

Ahh, the direct buss fader. It took me a minute to recognize what you were talking about.

If you hit Tweaks, there’s a tiny knob labeled Direct on the Master fader. Yes, kind of annoying. BFD should consider putting an explicit Direct buss back in v4.

Once I start mixing in a DAW, I generally only send my overhead mic to the master fader. The directs get their own outputs, as do any room or ambient mics, if I use them.